New RPC utility for LiteOn drives

Discuss firmwares for Recordable DVD drives here.

Moderators: chef, Puma, devilsclaw

New RPC utility for LiteOn drives

Postby nicw on Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:19 am

Folks,

I have written a small utility that can Flip a Liteon manufactured drive between RPC1 and RPC2. It also allows the RPC counters to be reset and or raised to higher values.

It is ready for testing and can be downloaded here.

[Program Removed pending further testing]

Bug reports, suggestions etc can be sent directly to me or posted here.

Cheers
NicW
www.dvdinfopro.com
www.dvdrrw.org
Last edited by nicw on Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby dhc014 on Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:49 am

It will probably only work for Drives like the DVD Burners and newer combo drives manufactured by Lite-ON.

Also, raising the counters above 5 doesn't really work well. In my experience, I wasn't allowed to change the region or set it.
Last edited by dhc014 on Sat Oct 11, 2003 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dhc014
Past Administrator
 
Posts: 12030
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2001 1:34 am

Postby mimmo on Sat Oct 11, 2003 2:02 am

I have a Liteon 401S (f/w ES0C) but it doesn't show up in LiteonUtil's popup menu. I can only select my other drive, a Pioneer DVD reader.

I tried either with or without a disk inserted (as it seems to matter in other programs like SmartBurn e.g. the drive isn't recognized unless the tray is empty).

Is it supposed to work only with DVD readers?
mimmo
Fresh meat
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:52 am

Postby ZoMBiE on Sat Oct 11, 2003 2:30 am

Dave looks like its a Lite-on only thing and not a Lite-on OEM util. it dont work on the Sony CRX300E it says cannot find drive.
Regards, ZoMBiE


BenQ DW1600->1620 (B7H9)
BTC DVDRW IDE1008M (0059)
http://www.linksysinfo.org
ZoMBiE
Master Poster
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 8:11 pm

Postby nicw on Sat Oct 11, 2003 3:17 am

mimmo wrote:I have a Liteon 401S (f/w ES0C) but it doesn't show up in LiteonUtil's popup menu. I can only select my other drive, a Pioneer DVD reader.

I tried either with or without a disk inserted (as it seems to matter in other programs like SmartBurn e.g. the drive isn't recognized unless the tray is empty).

Is it supposed to work only with DVD readers?


that may be a bug, if it shows the Pioneer and not the lite on then its definately a bug. What OS are you using? And how many CD/DVD Devices do you have on the system?

NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby nicw on Sat Oct 11, 2003 3:30 am

Hi,

I have just confirmed the bug, I will fix it and release it. Will post here when its done.

NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby nicw on Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:59 am

hopefully the changed link (above first post) and new version will correct that issue now.

Another reported issue is that sometimes when Query is hit, no info is shown, yet does if Region Free is hit first.

I am still trying to find out what location 0x70 is and why it needs to be changed which may have a bearing on this.

cheers
NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby dhc014 on Sun Oct 12, 2003 4:08 am

nicw wrote:I am still trying to find out what location 0x70 is and why it needs to be changed which may have a bearing on this.


Hopefully no one knows what you mean by that yet! 8O I'll look a little more...

The query button does not work if the drive is region free when the program is loaded.
User avatar
dhc014
Past Administrator
 
Posts: 12030
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2001 1:34 am

Postby mimmo on Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:20 am

nicw wrote:hopefully the changed link (above first post) and new version will correct that issue now.


Yep, works for me. Now the 401s is shown in the menu (and the Pioneer DVD isn't there anymore).

"Query" works and correctly reports my 401s as rpc-2 and no region set.
mimmo
Fresh meat
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:52 am

V0.3

Postby nicw on Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:36 am

I have released V0.3 which corrects the issue of "Query" not working when first launched or if drive was region free.

Cheers
NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby rhytmos on Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:35 pm

Thx for your util nicw

I tried it ...but it didn't work...

I have a liteon DVD 166s (fw DS19)

The query function didn't show my DVD ( I also have a liteon 52246s burner) that is the only one that your util finds

Also my DVD is locked to region 2 (according to windows and DVDinfo v2)
and that is my problem... after I upgraded the fw to DS19 my DVD is locked and the RPC2 proggy didn't work.

PLease... if you can fix your util maybe I'd be able to un-lock my DVD

TIA

----------
RHYTMOS
rhytmos
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:27 pm

Postby dhc014 on Tue Oct 14, 2003 8:22 pm

This tool may not work on the JLMS JX-HD166S, use the RPCDE tool available here: http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=99
User avatar
dhc014
Past Administrator
 
Posts: 12030
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2001 1:34 am

Postby rhytmos on Tue Oct 14, 2003 8:50 pm

This tool may not work on the JLMS JX-HD166S, use the RPCDE tool available here: http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=99


I used that one.... (in fact that was the first one I tried) BUT did't work!!!!


Any other suggestion?

-----------
RHYTMOS
rhytmos
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:27 pm

Postby nicw on Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:44 am

I have posted V0.4 of liteonutil. This release corrects an issue where the drop down list was being sorted and could cause the wrong device to be selected.

cheers
NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby nicw on Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:45 am

rhytmos wrote:Thx for your util nicw

I tried it ...but it didn't work...

I have a liteon DVD 166s (fw DS19)

The query function didn't show my DVD ( I also have a liteon 52246s burner) that is the only one that your util finds

Also my DVD is locked to region 2 (according to windows and DVDinfo v2)
and that is my problem... after I upgraded the fw to DS19 my DVD is locked and the RPC2 proggy didn't work.

PLease... if you can fix your util maybe I'd be able to un-lock my DVD

TIA

----------
RHYTMOS


I filter by the name of the device. What is the exact name of that device as shown in the drop down device list of dvdinfoipro?

NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby dhc014 on Wed Oct 15, 2003 6:17 am

This is working fine so far on my LDW-401S and my LTC-48161H. Other drives are not confirmed to be supported yet , and you really shouldn't try it with them...

*edit*
0.6 may support the 166S and 165H. It needs testing...
User avatar
dhc014
Past Administrator
 
Posts: 12030
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2001 1:34 am

Postby rhytmos on Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:29 pm

I filter by the name of the device. What is the exact name of that device as shown in the drop down device list of dvdinfoipro?


ok Nicw, the exact name is :

JLMS XJ-HD166S

BTW, I tried your last version of LiteonUtil (0.4 I guess) and now I got this error at the beginning

Drive EEPROM Not recognised

Then the program starts and most of the options were grey with the exception of query and close

And of course the query only shows my Liteon burner
LITE-ON LTR-52246S

Well.. I'll be waiting your beta version 0.6 ...

Thanks for everything

-------------
RHYTMOS
rhytmos
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:27 pm

same problem...

Postby dahoolio on Wed Oct 15, 2003 6:53 pm

Hello,

I have the exactly same problem as rhytmos does.

Using a LiteOn LDW-401S w/ firmware ES0G & RPC2, LiteonUtil gives me the message:

Drive EEPROM Not recognised



Can you look into this problem, nicw?

Thanks for the help you brought forward to the community with your program so far.


- dahoolio
dahoolio
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 6:49 pm

Postby nicw on Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:35 pm

rhytmos wrote:
I filter by the name of the device. What is the exact name of that device as shown in the drop down device list of dvdinfoipro?


ok Nicw, the exact name is :

JLMS XJ-HD166S

BTW, I tried your last version of LiteonUtil (0.4 I guess) and now I got this error at the beginning

Drive EEPROM Not recognised

Then the program starts and most of the options were grey with the exception of query and close

And of course the query only shows my Liteon burner
LITE-ON LTR-52246S

Well.. I'll be waiting your beta version 0.6 ...

Thanks for everything

-------------
RHYTMOS


I have been working on an update. these problems are occurring as now require to reconise both the drive and its eeprom before I will allow changing of the bits.
Please send me an eeprom dump of the LITE-ON LTR-52246S and I will add it in. email it to me.

An update will be out later today.

cheers
NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby dhc014 on Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:57 pm

The LTR-52246S is a CD-RW drive.
User avatar
dhc014
Past Administrator
 
Posts: 12030
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2001 1:34 am

Postby nicw on Wed Oct 15, 2003 11:10 pm

I have posted V0.7 for testing.

cheers
NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby cipsas on Thu Oct 16, 2003 3:15 pm

I tried to run the util on my laptop (no LiteOn there, just for operation test) and get the following: "Aspi & SPTI init failed.....". What might be the problem? OS Win2000.
cipsas
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 3:06 pm

Postby nicw on Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:41 pm

cipsas wrote:I tried to run the util on my laptop (no LiteOn there, just for operation test) and get the following: "Aspi & SPTI init failed.....". What might be the problem? OS Win2000.


If the error is real ;) then will be just that, no administrator priviiliges would cause SPTI to fail and probably no aspi installed.

If this is not the case then I will have to look at make sure the right thing is being done if no liteon drives are found at all.

cheers
NicW
User avatar
nicw
Master Poster
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:25 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Postby cipsas on Fri Oct 17, 2003 6:32 am

OK, I have admin rights on my home PC :)

However do you mean that I will have to install aspi in order just to be able to use the util?
cipsas
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 3:06 pm

Postby gerhard on Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:06 pm

I have the same problem as cipsas. I also tried installing ASPI drivers from Adaptec, but the problem still occurs.

JLMS XJ-HD166S = XJ-HD166S (HP OEM fw: DPS6)
WinXP Home with Admin priviledges
gerhard
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:58 pm

Next

Return to DVD-RW/+RW/RAM Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest