The Firmware Page

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:50 pm


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:39 pm 
Fresh meat

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 12
Help! I have what is marked as a PLDS DH-4B1S Blu-Ray burner with firmware 7111.
I can't find any firmware upgrade info on it as it's probably an OEM version.
Nothing on Philips site, nothing on Lite-On site that works.
All versions of firmware I have tried tells me that there is "no matched drive detected"
"This utility is only for PLDS BD-RE DH-4B1S drive"
Drive detected: ATAPI BD B DH41BS 7111

It detects a 4B1S drive but says it can't update due to a mis-match.
I have tried firmware from Dell, Lite-On and another link that escapes me but all give the exact same message.

Any ideas, please?

Thanks a million....

-PB


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 7:39 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
post discinfo output here, would suggest you stop trying to flash any firmware you find to the drive

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:01 am 
Fresh meat

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 12
Puma, thanks for getting back to me!
(PS - Firmware flashes won't allow me to flash... I gave up before I blew something up!)
DiscInfo reports:

DISCINFO VERSION : 1.6.1.6
VENDOR : ATAPI
MODEL : BD B DH4B1S
REVISION : 7111
VENDOR SPECIFIC : 0000060747 R___
LOADING MECHANISM : Tray
NUMBER VOL. LEVELS : 2
BUFFER SIZE : 2048KB
INTERFACE : ATAPI
RPC2 SCHEME : YES
STATUS : Not Set
USER CHANGES : 5
VENDOR CHANGES : 4
CURRENT REGION : Not set
ANALOG AUDIO PLAY : YES
COMPOSITE OUTPUT : NO
DIGITAL PORT-PORT1 : YES
DIGITAL PORT-PORT2 : NO
READ UPC CODE : YES
MULTISESSION READ : YES
MODE 2 FORM 1 : YES
MODE 2 FORM 2 : YES
READ ISRC CODE : YES
READ BAD CODE : NO
BUFFER UNDER-RUN : YES
MT. RAINIER : NO
CAN READ CDR : YES
CAN READ CDRW : YES
CAN READ CDRM2 : YES
CAN WRITE CDR : YES
CAN WRITE CDRW : YES
CAN TEST WRITE : YES
CAN READ DVD-ROM : YES
CAN READ DVD-R : YES
CAN READ DVD-RW : YES
CAN READ DVD-RAM : NO
CAN READ DVD+R : YES
CAN READ DVD+RW : YES
CAN WRITE DVD-R : YES
CAN WRITE DVD-RW : YES
CAN WRITE DVD-RAM : NO
CAN WRITE DVD+R : YES
CAN WRITE DVD+RW : YES
MAX CDR READ SPEED : 32
MAX CDR WRITE SPEED: 32


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:38 am 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
if liteon firmware is not working, it must be a specific oem, did it come in a pre-built system?

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:18 am 
Fresh meat

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 12
Actually I bought it from Meritline as an OEM drive but it came as a bare bones drive.
I thought the LiteOn firmware would work but it gives me the "wrong drive" error.


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:35 am 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
phillybob wrote:
Actually I bought it from Meritline as an OEM drive but it came as a bare bones drive.
I thought the LiteOn firmware would work but it gives me the "wrong drive" error.


be because of the oem, liteon will not flash the drive, of course in theory if the flasher was patched, then you could, but at the moment its risky because of the cost, and there isn't a suitable application

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:34 pm 
Fresh meat

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 12
Seeing as the drive is working OK so far, it may be best then to let a sleeping dog lie as it goes.
I was just wondering for future updates but if it isn't broke, no sense in trying to fix it.

I appreciate all of your time and many thanks!

-Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 3:53 am 
Fresh meat

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 12
Here's an update to my problem, which is no longer!
I went to Dell and downloaded the file "DH-4B1S_ 7D13_A00.zip" and used "flashfix" on it.
It then updated my drive from 7111 to 7D13.
I then downloaded from Dell, the file 4B1S_7D14.zip and ran it without the "flashfix" and it updated it
from 7D13 to 7D14 which appears to be the latest on Dell's site.

(One other firmware I found from Lite-On's site is 7P5A.zip but it will not allow an update either way,
patched or unpatched so I am assuming the drive I have was a Dell or was very close to a Dell and
could be cross patched from whatever it was originally to Dell's firmware then updated by Dell's newest.)

One note... attempting an update by running 7D14 firmware, patched or unpatched, was not allowed
but... the 7D13 patched version worked and then on from there.

Over the past week, there have been no problems with the update.
(So far) :mrgreen:

-PB


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:41 am 
New Member

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:32 am
Posts: 1
phillybob,

glad to hear you successfully flashed this drive without problems.
i have the same oem model: Lite-On DH-4B1S (ATAPI BD B DH4B1S) and had a couple questions if you do not mind.

Which version of flashfix did you use?
Were there any warnings when you patched the firmware executables?


i have flashfix v1.1.1.12 and when i tried to patch 7D13_A00_WIN.EXE, i got "File size out of range" File size was not within specified range. Ignore error and continue? given the risk of a bad firmware update, i chose not to continue.

i have tried to contact lite-on regarding an update using their 7P5A.exe, but so far i have gotten no response.

thanks for any further input,
chas


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:46 am 
Fresh meat

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 12
Quote:

Which version of flashfix did you use?
Were there any warnings when you patched the firmware executables?




I used flashfix 1.1.1.12 and got the "size out of range" warning on 7D13, but patched it anyway. 8O
If the patched or unpatched file is wrong, you will get an error if you try to flash it... IT WON"T LET YOU!
Tried it on a patched 7P5A and unpatched and it flopped, tried it on 7D14 patched and unpatched, and it flopped
with the error that it was wrong. :cry:
Unpatched 7D13 did not work but patched, it did and then I ran an UNPATCHED 7D14 and it worked.
The only scare you may get is that after the firmware update, it verifies but won't quit on it's own.
(it says "inquiring" all the way to 100%) then it hangs but if you reboot, it shows as updated.
DO NOT REBOOT UNTIL IT SAYS %100 PERCENT ON THE VERIFY STAGE! :evil:
I've been using the updated (7D14) firmware for a while now with no ill effects and no coasters.
You DO have to use the DELL firmware though... at least it's as far as I've gotten.
If anyone can get the 7P5A to go, let us know?? :mrgreen:

-Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Style based on FI Subice by phpBBservice.nl