The Firmware Page

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:49 pm


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:28 am 
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:00 am
Posts: 2
Hi

I've been following the RPC2 Autoreset forums for a while since I got my Macbook pro last year with a GSA-S10N in it.

I finally decided to do something about it after my count got down to one more change left. I installed vista under bootcamp, dowloaded MCSE, flashed the firmware to make it RPC2-autoreset, then flashed the drive.

Now here is where I get confused. The drive flashing initially didn't seem to have worked. Back in Mac OS X I got some message saying. "There was a problem changing the drive region error: 70001

I did some searching and found this thread on a macosxhints forum http://forums.macosxhints.com/showthread.php?t=52877 If you read the second to last post it seems that the problem was having a disc that could accept two regions. The disc I was using was able to accept regions 1 and 3 (although ti only said region 1 on the disc cover) I found a disc with one region (a region 3 disc I got in Taiwan) and hey presto. I was able to change the region.

Then I tried the original region 1 and 3 disc I had tried to use and it worked (because it accepted region 3). Then I tried a region 4 disc and as expected, I couldn't play it because I had used my last region change.

I rebooted my macbook. Tried the region 3 disc again and got the message that I had one more change left.

So I assume that RPC2 autoreset is working,

My confusion stems from thinking that I would get the original number of changes back, not the 1 change left that I had when I flashed the firmware.

I'm glad that I can have that one change remaining each time I reboot, but the prob with the apple firmware is that I have to use a disc with only 1 region on it, and that is not always going to be possible.

So, in short. Am I correct in assuming that the RPC2 Autoreset worked or should I have 4 changes remaining each time I reboot.

Thanks in advance
M


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 8:53 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:39 am
Posts: 23595
Location: .de #...still playing LLAMATRON 2112!
airspeed wrote:
My confusion stems from thinking that I would get the original number of changes back, not the 1 change left that I had when I flashed the firmware.

I'm glad that I can have that one change remaining each time I reboot, but the prob with the apple firmware is that I have to use a disc with only 1 region on it, and that is not always going to be possible.

So, in short. Am I correct in assuming that the RPC2 Autoreset worked or should I have 4 changes remaining each time I reboot.

Thanks in advance
M


This thought is not correct. It will be reset to the state (remaining changes) before flashing with the autoreset firmware.

_________________
.:The rpc1.org FAQ:. Please read & follow our firmware request rules precisely! .:The DiscInfo tool:.

I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring DVD-R (A) & HD-DVD media, any size, any brand. Please pm me if you can help. \:D/

Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 12:39 pm 
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:00 am
Posts: 2
Thanks for the quick response, and putting me straight on this point. It's still good to have a drive that now at least resets to one change each time I reboot.

I've also checked through most of my disks and it seems most only have one zone on them, so I won't have to worry too much about the funny 70001 error. Also the default zone that it resets to on reboot is the zone I have most disks of anyway.

I don't suppose there is any way that Apple can reset the changes back to 5?

Cheers
M
:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:52 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
Quote:
I don't suppose there is any way that Apple can reset the changes back to 5?


Apple can reset it, but they would not offer this service to you

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:10 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:39 am
Posts: 23595
Location: .de #...still playing LLAMATRON 2112!
Yes, that is called VENDOR RESET but not practized.........

_________________
.:The rpc1.org FAQ:. Please read & follow our firmware request rules precisely! .:The DiscInfo tool:.

I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring DVD-R (A) & HD-DVD media, any size, any brand. Please pm me if you can help. \:D/

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Style based on FI Subice by phpBBservice.nl