The Firmware Page

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 12:49 pm


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 114 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:15 am 
New Member

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:06 am
Posts: 2
Great!
I will try with my native Vista! I'll let you know!

Thanks for your post!


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:54 am 
New Member

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:51 am
Posts: 1
hawk_sys wrote:
Great!
I will try with my native Vista! I'll let you know!

Thanks for your post!


Any way to do this if you're only booting MacOS?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:41 pm 
New Member

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:02 pm
Posts: 1
How exactly does the RPC2 Auto Reset work? How useful is it if you don't live in Region 2 - for example, in Australia (Region 4)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:09 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
nebuleux wrote:
How exactly does the RPC2 Auto Reset work? How useful is it if you don't live in Region 2 - for example, in Australia (Region 4)?


read the FAQ

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:20 am 
New Member

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:14 am
Posts: 2
I've got a macbook pro with the GSA-S10N drive and tried updating the firmware with MCSE and the dell A101 firmware for the drive. I added the auto-reset patch in MCSE to the firmware and ran the exe (under a vista install on boot camp) and it all seemed to work ok, but in device manager the drive still has just one region change remaining. When i rebooted after the firmware upgrade vista reinstalled drivers for the device.

As I understand it the drive should have the five region resets available when the machine is restarted but it doesn't reset at the moment. Is there anything else I should do to get the reset of the count working?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:24 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:39 am
Posts: 23678
Location: .de #...still playing LLAMATRON 2112!
rsouthgate wrote:
I've got a macbook pro with the GSA-S10N drive and tried updating the firmware with MCSE and the dell A101 firmware for the drive. I added the auto-reset patch in MCSE to the firmware and ran the exe (under a vista install on boot camp) and it all seemed to work ok, but in device manager the drive still has just one region change remaining. When i rebooted after the firmware upgrade vista reinstalled drivers for the device.

As I understand it the drive should have the five region resets available when the machine is restarted but it doesn't reset at the moment. Is there anything else I should do to get the reset of the count working?


Have you understood HOW rpc-1 works?

Please read the FAQ.

_________________
.:The rpc1.org FAQ:. Please read & follow our firmware request rules precisely! .:The DiscInfo tool:.

I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring DVD-R (A) & HD-DVD media, any size, any brand. Please pm me if you can help. \:D/

Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 10:03 pm 
New Member

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:14 am
Posts: 2
[_chef_] wrote:
Have you understood HOW rpc-1 works?

As far as I understand it the autoreset patch in MCSE is rpc-2. It is a firmware patch that should reset the region change count to 5 every time the machine reboots. Since there is no rpc1 firmware for this drive I thought this was the alternative way to unlock my drive from region protection. Am I missing something?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:32 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:39 am
Posts: 23678
Location: .de #...still playing LLAMATRON 2112!
Please post the Discinfo output for your drive here, make sure tools like AnyDVD, DVD43, Region+CSS FREE, etc. are DISABLED.

_________________
.:The rpc1.org FAQ:. Please read & follow our firmware request rules precisely! .:The DiscInfo tool:.

I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring DVD-R (A) & HD-DVD media, any size, any brand. Please pm me if you can help. \:D/

Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:32 am 
New Member

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:28 am
Posts: 1
Hi i have successfully flash my macbook HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N firmware from ap08 to dell a101 with msce patch.
i have also tried and confirmed that the rpc1 patch work and the dvd drive will automatically reset it region code to 4 when the system reboot. however 1 point to take note is that dell a101 firmware will report an error during the patch and informed that it is unsuccessful. just ignore and reboot and you can check from the system profile for the firmware version.


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:13 pm 
Firmware Patcher
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:18 am
Posts: 992
Location: Germany
Thanks for the feedback. You mean you got an error message when flashing the patched firmware, but it was flashed anyway ?

_________________
LiteOn/Benq/LG/NEC/Pioneer/Samsung/Toshiba stuff: MediaCodeSpeedEdit V 1.2.0.10, released October 3rd 2011


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:36 pm 
New Member

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:32 pm
Posts: 1
Question - does this work in native OS X (leopard) or only in boot camp/emulated windows?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:38 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
ThisIsJon wrote:
Question - does this work in native OS X (leopard) or only in boot camp/emulated windows?


needs to be in boot camp

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:56 am 
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 25
My new Macbook has a GSA S10, but the firmware version listed for it is BP10 - is there a de-regioning upgrade for that, please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:09 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
BaffledMacUser wrote:
My new Macbook has a GSA S10, but the firmware version listed for it is BP10 - is there a de-regioning upgrade for that, please?


there cannot even be a possibility without an official release of a firmware

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:53 pm 
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 25
Why is that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:02 am 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
BaffledMacUser wrote:
Why is that?


how do you plan on patching the firmware?

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:46 am 
Fresh meat

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:44 am
Posts: 12
Hi

Just got a new MBP and it ships with this drive, release AP12:
HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N:

Firmware Revision: AP12
Interconnect: ATAPI
Burn Support: Yes (Apple Shipping Drive)
Cache: 2048 KB
Reads DVD: Yes
CD-Write: -R, -RW
DVD-Write: -R, -R DL, -RW, +R, +R DL, +RW
Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO

Would it be possible to flash this drive with the older Dell firmware?

I believe this drive unlike Matshita drive can by easily bypassed simply using VLC ... is this correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:25 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
jyavenard wrote:
Hi

Just got a new MBP and it ships with this drive, release AP12:
HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N:

Firmware Revision: AP12
Interconnect: ATAPI
Burn Support: Yes (Apple Shipping Drive)
Cache: 2048 KB
Reads DVD: Yes
CD-Write: -R, -RW
DVD-Write: -R, -R DL, -RW, +R, +R DL, +RW
Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO

Would it be possible to flash this drive with the older Dell firmware?

I believe this drive unlike Matshita drive can by easily bypassed simply using VLC ... is this correct?


read deathg0d post on this page, remember there is no way back to how the drive is now, if you do

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:31 pm 
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 25
I don't understand the moderator's questions - I'm not a technician, I'm an ordinary user; perhaps he or she is speaking to people with a greater level of technical knowledge than mine.

It seems that my only solution is to ignore the DVD-R drive on my expensive Mac and buy a region-free external drive to plug into it.

I'll also be writing to Apple to protest at this nonsense, and suggest that others do the same.

Apple's stated desire is for groovy globalised customers - but anyone who travels or who has friends around the world is at a disadvantage with this silly region coding. At least, any *Mac* user is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:37 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
Quote:
I don't understand the moderator's questions - I'm not a technician, I'm an ordinary user; perhaps he or she is speaking to people with a greater level of technical knowledge than mine


basically to patch this firmware to rpc1, you have to physically have it or be able to download it, you cannot patch it on the drive, there has been no official release of any firmware, so it cannot be done, hope that explains it a bit better

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:16 pm 
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 25
Ah, I understand now. Thanks.

I've written to Apple, and suggest that other customers should do the same - if we don't tell the company how we feel about this, the company will think we're perfectly happy with it.

As the child of an actor who worked all over the world, usually in obscure movies, I'm particularly hard hit by this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:24 pm 
Fresh meat

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:44 am
Posts: 12
Feel lucky that it's an LG drive and not a Matshita, as you can use VLC instead to watch a movie


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:26 pm 
Fresh meat

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:44 am
Posts: 12
PumaUK wrote:
read deathg0d post on this page, remember there is no way back to how the drive is now, if you do


I read this, he patched his drive from AP08 to the Dell's one.

This doesn't answer my question as if it will work with my drive currently running AP12...

Thanks
JY


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:12 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Posts: 10125
Location: UK
Quote:
I read this, he patched his drive from AP08 to the Dell's one.

This doesn't answer my question as if it will work with my drive currently running AP12...

Thanks


your firmware is just newer that's all, with any crossflash we can only say user beware, risks are your's, and you understand the warranty will be void

Quote:
I've written to Apple, and suggest that other customers should do the same - if we don't tell the company how we feel about this, the company will think we're perfectly happy with it


Apple and other manufacturers will not take one bit of notice, i'm afraid, the law's have been set, and they stick to them

_________________
Read The FAQImageFirmware Request RulesImage
MCSE Thread Utilities


Top
 Profile  
 
 PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:33 pm 
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 25
I tried the VLC business, but no, it doesn't work for me, unfortunately.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 114 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Style based on FI Subice by phpBBservice.nl