Request firmware HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N rev. AP09

Here you can request new/old firmware for PC Optical Drives.
* Attention! You must read and apply to the REQUEST RULES!! *

Moderators: chef, Puma, devilsclaw

Postby hawk_sys on Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:15 am

Great!
I will try with my native Vista! I'll let you know!

Thanks for your post!
hawk_sys
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:06 am

Postby jays on Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:54 am

hawk_sys wrote:Great!
I will try with my native Vista! I'll let you know!

Thanks for your post!


Any way to do this if you're only booting MacOS?
jays
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:51 am

RPC2 Auto Reset

Postby nebuleux on Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:41 pm

How exactly does the RPC2 Auto Reset work? How useful is it if you don't live in Region 2 - for example, in Australia (Region 4)?
nebuleux
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:02 pm

Re: RPC2 Auto Reset

Postby Puma on Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:09 pm

nebuleux wrote:How exactly does the RPC2 Auto Reset work? How useful is it if you don't live in Region 2 - for example, in Australia (Region 4)?


read the FAQ
Puma
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10129
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: UK

Postby rsouthgate on Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:20 am

I've got a macbook pro with the GSA-S10N drive and tried updating the firmware with MCSE and the dell A101 firmware for the drive. I added the auto-reset patch in MCSE to the firmware and ran the exe (under a vista install on boot camp) and it all seemed to work ok, but in device manager the drive still has just one region change remaining. When i rebooted after the firmware upgrade vista reinstalled drivers for the device.

As I understand it the drive should have the five region resets available when the machine is restarted but it doesn't reset at the moment. Is there anything else I should do to get the reset of the count working?
rsouthgate
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:14 am

Postby chef on Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:24 am

rsouthgate wrote:I've got a macbook pro with the GSA-S10N drive and tried updating the firmware with MCSE and the dell A101 firmware for the drive. I added the auto-reset patch in MCSE to the firmware and ran the exe (under a vista install on boot camp) and it all seemed to work ok, but in device manager the drive still has just one region change remaining. When i rebooted after the firmware upgrade vista reinstalled drivers for the device.

As I understand it the drive should have the five region resets available when the machine is restarted but it doesn't reset at the moment. Is there anything else I should do to get the reset of the count working?


Have you understood HOW rpc-1 works?

Please read the FAQ.
.:The rpc1.org FAQ:. Please read & follow our firmware request rules precisely! .:The DiscInfo tool:.
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring DVD-R (A) & HD-DVD media, any size, any brand. Please pm me if you can help. \:D/
User avatar
chef
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 23844
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:39 am
Location: .de #...still playing LLAMATRON 2112!

Postby rsouthgate on Wed Jan 02, 2008 10:03 pm

[_chef_] wrote:Have you understood HOW rpc-1 works?

As far as I understand it the autoreset patch in MCSE is rpc-2. It is a firmware patch that should reset the region change count to 5 every time the machine reboots. Since there is no rpc1 firmware for this drive I thought this was the alternative way to unlock my drive from region protection. Am I missing something?
rsouthgate
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:14 am

Postby chef on Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:32 am

Please post the Discinfo output for your drive here, make sure tools like AnyDVD, DVD43, Region+CSS FREE, etc. are DISABLED.
.:The rpc1.org FAQ:. Please read & follow our firmware request rules precisely! .:The DiscInfo tool:.
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring DVD-R (A) & HD-DVD media, any size, any brand. Please pm me if you can help. \:D/
User avatar
chef
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 23844
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:39 am
Location: .de #...still playing LLAMATRON 2112!

Postby deathg0d on Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:32 am

Hi i have successfully flash my macbook HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N firmware from ap08 to dell a101 with msce patch.
i have also tried and confirmed that the rpc1 patch work and the dvd drive will automatically reset it region code to 4 when the system reboot. however 1 point to take note is that dell a101 firmware will report an error during the patch and informed that it is unsuccessful. just ignore and reboot and you can check from the system profile for the firmware version.
deathg0d
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:28 am

Postby ala42 on Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:13 pm

Thanks for the feedback. You mean you got an error message when flashing the patched firmware, but it was flashed anyway ?
LiteOn/Benq/LG/NEC/Pioneer/Samsung/Toshiba stuff: MediaCodeSpeedEdit V 1.2.0.10, released October 3rd 2011
User avatar
ala42
Firmware Patcher
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:18 am
Location: Germany

Postby ThisIsJon on Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:36 pm

Question - does this work in native OS X (leopard) or only in boot camp/emulated windows?
ThisIsJon
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:32 pm

Postby Puma on Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:38 pm

ThisIsJon wrote:Question - does this work in native OS X (leopard) or only in boot camp/emulated windows?


needs to be in boot camp
Puma
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10129
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: UK

Postby BaffledMacUser on Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:56 am

My new Macbook has a GSA S10, but the firmware version listed for it is BP10 - is there a de-regioning upgrade for that, please?
BaffledMacUser
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am

Postby Puma on Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:09 pm

BaffledMacUser wrote:My new Macbook has a GSA S10, but the firmware version listed for it is BP10 - is there a de-regioning upgrade for that, please?


there cannot even be a possibility without an official release of a firmware
Puma
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10129
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: UK

Postby BaffledMacUser on Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:53 pm

Why is that?
BaffledMacUser
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am

Postby Puma on Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:02 am

BaffledMacUser wrote:Why is that?


how do you plan on patching the firmware?
Puma
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10129
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: UK

AP12 in new MBP

Postby jyavenard on Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:46 am

Hi

Just got a new MBP and it ships with this drive, release AP12:
HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N:

Firmware Revision: AP12
Interconnect: ATAPI
Burn Support: Yes (Apple Shipping Drive)
Cache: 2048 KB
Reads DVD: Yes
CD-Write: -R, -RW
DVD-Write: -R, -R DL, -RW, +R, +R DL, +RW
Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO

Would it be possible to flash this drive with the older Dell firmware?

I believe this drive unlike Matshita drive can by easily bypassed simply using VLC ... is this correct?
jyavenard
Fresh meat
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:44 am

Re: AP12 in new MBP

Postby Puma on Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:25 pm

jyavenard wrote:Hi

Just got a new MBP and it ships with this drive, release AP12:
HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N:

Firmware Revision: AP12
Interconnect: ATAPI
Burn Support: Yes (Apple Shipping Drive)
Cache: 2048 KB
Reads DVD: Yes
CD-Write: -R, -RW
DVD-Write: -R, -R DL, -RW, +R, +R DL, +RW
Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO

Would it be possible to flash this drive with the older Dell firmware?

I believe this drive unlike Matshita drive can by easily bypassed simply using VLC ... is this correct?


read deathg0d post on this page, remember there is no way back to how the drive is now, if you do
Puma
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10129
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: UK

Postby BaffledMacUser on Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:31 pm

I don't understand the moderator's questions - I'm not a technician, I'm an ordinary user; perhaps he or she is speaking to people with a greater level of technical knowledge than mine.

It seems that my only solution is to ignore the DVD-R drive on my expensive Mac and buy a region-free external drive to plug into it.

I'll also be writing to Apple to protest at this nonsense, and suggest that others do the same.

Apple's stated desire is for groovy globalised customers - but anyone who travels or who has friends around the world is at a disadvantage with this silly region coding. At least, any *Mac* user is.
BaffledMacUser
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am

Postby Puma on Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:37 pm

I don't understand the moderator's questions - I'm not a technician, I'm an ordinary user; perhaps he or she is speaking to people with a greater level of technical knowledge than mine


basically to patch this firmware to rpc1, you have to physically have it or be able to download it, you cannot patch it on the drive, there has been no official release of any firmware, so it cannot be done, hope that explains it a bit better
Puma
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10129
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: UK

Postby BaffledMacUser on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:16 pm

Ah, I understand now. Thanks.

I've written to Apple, and suggest that other customers should do the same - if we don't tell the company how we feel about this, the company will think we're perfectly happy with it.

As the child of an actor who worked all over the world, usually in obscure movies, I'm particularly hard hit by this.
BaffledMacUser
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am

Postby jyavenard on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:24 pm

Feel lucky that it's an LG drive and not a Matshita, as you can use VLC instead to watch a movie
jyavenard
Fresh meat
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:44 am

Re: AP12 in new MBP

Postby jyavenard on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:26 pm

PumaUK wrote:read deathg0d post on this page, remember there is no way back to how the drive is now, if you do


I read this, he patched his drive from AP08 to the Dell's one.

This doesn't answer my question as if it will work with my drive currently running AP12...

Thanks
JY
jyavenard
Fresh meat
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:44 am

Postby Puma on Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:12 pm

I read this, he patched his drive from AP08 to the Dell's one.

This doesn't answer my question as if it will work with my drive currently running AP12...

Thanks


your firmware is just newer that's all, with any crossflash we can only say user beware, risks are your's, and you understand the warranty will be void

I've written to Apple, and suggest that other customers should do the same - if we don't tell the company how we feel about this, the company will think we're perfectly happy with it


Apple and other manufacturers will not take one bit of notice, i'm afraid, the law's have been set, and they stick to them
Puma
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10129
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: UK

Postby BaffledMacUser on Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:33 pm

I tried the VLC business, but no, it doesn't work for me, unfortunately.
BaffledMacUser
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:54 am

PreviousNext

Return to Request firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests